For my third post in the “12 moments in anime 2009” I’m choosing the Clannad After Story “Happy Ending” moment, and  for the purposes of this post runs from the Usagi & Tomoya singing the Dango song to the newly born Ushio until the end of the Chiisana Tenohira (Small Palms) song/visual montage.

For your enjoyment, below is a YouTube clip of the segment which runs for 4:46. Please note that there is approx 4 seconds of dead space in the middle.

        I felt that the segment and the songs that accompanied it perfectly embodied the themes and motifs that Clannad & Clannad After Story tried impart to us, the viewers. Clannad was a story of great cycles; the cycle of maturation, the cycle of life, and the cycle of responsibility. One of the many themes I loved about Clannad was the theme that there’s life after high school, too many anime end with the confession, or end at high school graduation, it’s like game over. But, Clannad showed the struggles and joys that accompany a adult life, and the final montage showed us “the kids are alright”.

      For those of you who haven’t followed my reviews of Clannad & Clannad After Story please click here, and read my thought on the series at the bottom of my review of episode 24.