For my 11th post in the “12 moments of anime 2009” series I’m choosing the Toradora! anime series.

      I have to admit that when this series first came out last October, I thought to myself  “not another high school romantic  comedy”, so I filed away the episodes on my hard drive. Then in February I had some extra time on my hands and started watching Toradora!, and after five or six episodes I realised what a mistake I had made.

      So, I power watched those back episodes and fell in love with the series. While Toradora! has its faults and has many of the tropes common for an anime of the genre those deficiencies are more than outweighed by its endearing characters, and well written story. I laughed, I cried, and I rooted for Ryuuji and Taiga to find happiness and felt quite contented with how the series ended. In short, Toradora! was one of the best high school romantic comedies I’ve watched in the past few years, two thumbs up.